Loyal 18

Today was another day for watching Rugby League and we made the much shorter journey to Hull to see the Warriors take on Hull FC (Not football, despite the name, haha!)

They were humming and ahh-ing at the entrance to the ground about whether to let me take my camera in or not. As it does not have interchangeable lenses and as I made sure I came over a bit divvy and convinced them that I would not be taking any photos of saleable value, they let me in the end. I know some excellent photographers who cannot persuade people who want to use their shots to pay for the privilege, so no-one is going to pay for my half-assed attempts! A man did get thrown out by the stewards because he had somehow managed to get a proper DSLR camera into the ground!

Anyway, it was a good game and unusually for a Rugby League game, the score was 0-0 at half time. The scoreboard did start working in the second half, with 10 unanswered points for Wigan. We won, and we nilled Hull! We reminded their fans in song that we tend to get battered everywhere we go, just so they know how rubbish their lot must be!

I took this shot of the celebrations. I love away games! (Just as well since "home" is one of the furthest away grounds!) We sat right at the back of the stadium so we could sing and stand up if we wanted. The atmosphere is better up there. One of the things I like about being a Rugby League fan and going to live games is feeling like I am part of something - all the singing, chanting, clapping and heckling the ref! 

The title is because the Number 18 shirt never goes to a player - it is the shirt of Wigan Warriors Fans!

We have some TV rugby to watch later and a few bevvies chilling in the fridge!

Jeri has her 100 mile run today, the Robin Hood 100. I have been following her progress on a tracking app and she seems to be going well so far!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.