Dean Village

TT was heading into work again today and I was going into Edinburgh to get my hair cut.  As BB wasn’t keen to get out of bed, I delayed my departure to make sure he was out of bed and getting ready for school.  I took the bus in, which was probably the busiest bus I have been on since March 2020, but I did get a seat to myself.   It was incredibly muggy, so it was a relief to have all the windows open.  I had time to walk through Princes Street Gardens before I was due at the hairdresser.
 
After that was done I decided to take a walk along the Water of Leith to Stockbridge and then up to the city centre – a walk we did regularly when we lived in Edinburgh.  I popped into a couple of shops and then picked up some food from M&S and went to get my bus home.  The bus tracker said it wasn’t due for 28 minutes, so I went for a wander to kill time as the bus stop area was mobbed.  When I got back the bus stop was still mobbed and the bus tracker said 5 minutes, and quickly went to DUE, then stayed there for a while before reverting to 28 minutes.  What was going on?  It then became apparent that no buses were coming along.  I checked the website but couldn’t work out what was wrong.  I assumed a hold up along Prances Street somewhere.  I decided to cut my losses and walk back along, only to find that they had closed Princes Street, so no traffic was getting along to the east end, it was all diverted via St Andrew’s Square.    I kept walking and was lucky enough to get on a slow bus home – but any bus in a storm as I was very annoyed.  It was empty, and all those poor people waiting on buses that were never going to arrive. 
 
By the time I got home I was worn out.  At least M&S had supplied tea, so not much effort required.  I was catching up my usual Friday chores and realised that TT seemed to be late and indeed was late home – he had got a puncture when cycling to  the park and ride where he had left the car.  All in all not a good day for our travels.  We eventually collapsed on the sofa and watched some TV.
 
Another grey day, but the yellow houses brighten this blip up. The Water of Leith is very low at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.