Barn's Ness

I did a few chores, TT headed out early for a haircut and I was left to makes sure BB got out of bed in time to get himself to rugby.  I then left him and went out for a run.  One of my favourite routes, that starts with a view of the Lammermuirs and then moves into a view of Edinburgh and the Firth of Forth.  It was breezy and I took bad at running into the wind.  It was hard work. There were great views to be had though.  It was then home to continue the chores I hadn’t done yesterday.
 
Later TT and I headed out in search of a new cooker.  We had decided to shop local.  The first place we tried was closed – turns out it is only open on a Saturday morning.  I checked the times of the second place on my list and it should have been open, but wasn’t.  How disappointing.  We were in Dunbar, so we had a breezy walk around the cliffs and the harbour.
 
P cooked some pasta for tea, while I provided some assistance with homework.   TT remembered that he had a Zoom call with friends.  He had forgotten about it last week!  I pottered and then watched TV.
 
On the 20th anniversary of 9/11, we remembered how we heard about the news.  We were on a camping holiday  in North Devon and had been out on a long walk that filled most of the day.  We got back to the village and stopped for a drink  in  the first pub we came to.  There was only one old chap sitting at the bar.  I sat down and TT went to the bar.  The old chap engaged him in conversation and when he came back with our drinks he told me that the old guy was talking about someone flying into the twin towers.  We didn’t believe him.  We finished our drinks, then continued our walk back to the camp site.  Later we were walking out of the site when a rather distressed chap came up to us to ask if we had heard the news.  That’s when we knew it was true – the old guy in the pub hadn’t been blethering.  The pub we ate in later had its TV on – and we caught up with the news. 
 
This is Barn’s Ness lighthouse, taken from Dunbar Harbour.  The birds in the extra reminded us of wee penguins.  Could they be manx shearwaters?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.