Coastguard Cottage

I repeated my newspaper walk this morning, lovely early light through the clouds over the coastguard cottage (which I see online is now a holiday let). Then I was invited to G & M's for a catch up in their garden with J & W too - so lovely. 

What a fabulous US Open Final last night, I was so please that both women played at such a high standard, many finals have been a bit of a let down in recent years. And many congratulations to Emma Raducanu, the first ever qualifier in the Open Era to win a Grand Slam. Her play is superb, although I'm most impressed by her temperament / attitude, resilience and 'tennis brain'. 

Day 545 / Day 56 of Step 4 of Roadmap Easing (for my record only)
The Health Secretary did a U turn this morning and announced they're not going to use Vaccine Passports after all in England, a week after the Vaccines Minister said the end of the month would be the right time to start the scheme. No alternative like improved ventilation for indoor venues was suggested and this leaves the country as a bit of an outlier (it's being kept as a reserve measure, although probably would be too late by then). He also said he wanted to get rid of PCR tests for travel 'as soon as I possibly can'. Sajid Javid has been poor as Health Secretary in my opinion, giving into the back benchers and business on not implementing appropriate preventative controls and largely being invisible and silent. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.