Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Set Aside Sunrise

Not a great night.  Stomach cramps caused some discomfort  - still not sure this is anything to do with the radio therapy.  I was awake well before sunrise, so headed out to the rutting field to see if there was any action.

The conditions were very atmospheric, mist and low sun, I could see some hinds and young deer in the field but no noises of roaring stags.  It now seems quite late for the rut to start, at least in comparison to previous years. I'm also conscious that I haven't seen any mature stags for a few months during my walks.  Of course timing is variable but in the back of my mind is the question of whether some culling has taken place.

This shot is in the adjacent field, set aside by the farmer and a favourite location for the deer to escape  my feeble attempts to get close to them.  So it came as some surprise when I noticed them coming towards me from the next field (See extra).  These females and young seem ready for the males to rut, so maybe it is just later this year.  Ive also added another couple of shots as it was one of those mornings when choosing just one image was difficult.

Radiotherapy was much later this morning, much easier to get hydrated though my stomach and bowels still don't feel right.  The radiologists were happy with me, none the less and I was able to join L up at the stables for a late lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.