Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Symbiosis

interaction between two different organisms living in close physical association, typically to the advantage of both


Since developing an interest in entomology in recent years, I have become increasingly interested in the behavior of invertebrates.  And one of the most fascinating behaviors is this one, where one species (the carpenter ant) guards, protects and tends the other species (oleander aphids).  When I was nudging the leaf around to try to get a better angle, the Carpenter Auntie charged my finger as if to warn me off.  And, yes, I removed my finger post-haste since the Aunties bite.


The aphids feed on the leaf (milkweed, in this instance), secreting their waste in the form of "honeydew" which the ants adore.  So, the ants care for groups of aphids (and other honeydew secreting species of leaf-feeding insects) in exchange for a delicious food source.  I've frequently observed this behavior with treehopper nymphs and a much smaller ant but this is the first time I've seen carpenter ants tending little aphid flocks.  Yea, I know - totally geeky.  No apologies.


In the same geeky vein, I was just telling a friend yesterday that I've been seeing quite a few Spotted Lanterflies (nasty invasive species) trapped in spider webs but have never seen a spider wrapping them up.  I assume they are too large.  Today while I was outside, I was looking at a large lanternfly that was caught in a web when suddenly the orb weaver raced out and started "subduing" the insect.  I actually thought about posting the image as my blip but figured it would gross too many people out.  So if you want to see the interesting details, click HERE


I spent some time online ordering some things I want/need for the trip - I love being able to shop from the comfort of home.  Next I need to start spraying all the clothing I'm taking with anti-mosquito treatment.  It's great stuff and lasts for 3 months - a life-saver when I went to Costa Rica (I didn't get a single mosquito bite!)  I will still need to take some mosquito repellent wipes for my skin, but won't need to worry about full-body spraying.


Dark with ginger today and maybe a little piece of Belgian dark, too.


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.