Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Goodbye

Today went along like most others, until it didn't - I went out for a paddle, did some things around the house, etc.  And I was just getting ready to send a text to a friend to wish her a happy birthday when I got a text from her husband telling me she passed away on Thursday.  I've known Claire for about 18 years and while we were not "besties", she was a good friend.  Before Covid, we used to get together for lunch every month or so and talk about business, our lives and all things in between.  She was a therapist which made her especially easy to talk to.  Once Covid came along, we stopped meeting and would exchange text messages every so often.  The last time I heard from her was several months ago.  At that time, she'd had a second surgery for her back and said she was home and recovering well.

Her husband's text said she had been in hospice prior to her death.  Part of me is feeling angry that I didn't know.  And part of me knows that Claire would not have wanted any fuss.  But still...I wish I'd known.  Even had she not wanted visitors, I would have liked  to have made something delicious for her - she loved good food, especially baked goods.  She was in her early to mid 70's - too young to leave.  She had such an interesting life and while I'd like to share some of it here, it isn't mine to share.  She was very private about many things and she trusted me with her history.  All I will say is that she overcame many obstacles during her life and she was a kind and caring person, made stronger by her struggles.  Godspeed, Claire.

I am going to indulge in a piece of Belgian chocolate and tonight I am going to raise a glass of wine to Claire.  Something French if possible because she loved spending time in France.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.