Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello 26

I've fallen way behind this year on my visual yard bird record and this is only #26.  Of course, I've seen way more than this, but have failed to photograph them.  Anyway, it's been a few years since I've seen a Brown Thrasher (in the Mimidae family of thrush) in our yard so he was worthy of being today's blip.  They are long, elegant shaped birds, like their two closest relatives here, the Gray Catbird and the Northern Mockingbird.  Brown Thrashers generally repeat each song segment twice (mockingbirds almost always 3 or more reps), and are known for a wide variety of songs and mimic noises. As is typical for this species, it was lurking about at the edge of the woods and disappeared nearly as quickly as it appeared.  I believe this one is a hatch year bird, based on the paler color of its eye and the overall more muted colors.  

Also in the garden was a Autumn Meadowhawk, alive and well (unlike yesterday's specimen).  I will put it in Extra.  Also two young hummers zooming around and at least 8 Monarchs.  I released 3 monarchs today.

We have more humid weather coming tomorrow which is wreaking havoc with my sinuses today and leaving me with little energy.  Not too lethargic to harvest a bunch of basil and make pesto for supper tonight though!

Had a nice long FT chat with my parents until we lost our signal and had to sign off.  Oregon is still very dry and warm so they are out every day walking and/or geocaching.  

Jax is snoozing at the moment, no doubt warming up for later when he will revert to full-on puppy mode.  

Dark with orange.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.