Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flora

Had a nice long FB chat with my parents this morning which definitely lifted my spirits.  Then, off to the closest lake for a paddle.  I was the only one on the lake except for the birds, a few dragons and the last water lilies of the season.  I actually spent quite a bit of time in the company of a Great Blue Heron and was certain he would be my blip...but I decided I liked this better, and it reminded me of Claire who always loved the water lilies.  The Heron is in Extra.

I texted with Claire's husband this morning and came away from that realizing that she wanted to go out on her own terms with no one hovering over her.  She told him she didn't want any sort of service although he said he may have a memorial for her at some point.  I will remember her in my own way and will respect the fact that saying goodbye would have been too hard for her.  I think I am at peace with that.

There was one hummer in the garden this morning but he may just have been refueling because I didn't see him later.  There continue to be a steady flow of monarchs coming through, different ones each day.  The maples are starting to show some yellow leaves and all around me there are subtle signs of fall.  But one month from today (fates willing) I will be somewhere in Columbia photographing my brains out.  I'm ready.

Dark with hints of chili today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.