Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Boat trip from Berwick

I have back blipped yesterday.

We enjoyed our breakfast and then went our several ways. One group drove to Etal for a seven mile walk. I was conflicted as to what to do, but decided to explore Berwick. I realise I have never been there before, although I have looked at it many time from the train on the East Coast line to Edinburgh.

First I met George and Mary, then Anne E, then Cathy and Bill. We shared information. It was the Berwick Heritage weekend so lots of places were open for free. I went first to the enormous Ice House and heard the history.

When Berwick's main export was salmon and the salmon went to London by boat, taking three days, ice was essential to keep the salmon fresh. At one time there were 6 ice houses in the town. This one was like a small warehouse.

Ice was taken from the river in winter, but as temperatures rose it was imported by boat from Scandinavia! 

When the railway was built, the need for large quantities of ice diminished.

I walked around part of the city walls and was able to go in and see some of the fortifications. Quite incredible.

Then to the Berwick Barracks (see extra) and then to find a coffee. Bill and Cathy joined me for a coffee.

Anne E had told me about the boat trips so I booked via my phone and was on the same trip with her. The light was dramatic at times. We did see a few seals but no dolphins. I loved the sunlight bathing the town on our return.

I had a good drive home too. It had been raining heavily here, but all over before I arrived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.