Mr. Minstrel!

Today has not been normal. I usually go to my Dad's on Monday but couldn't today due to having to try to sort out my invalid bank card. When I tried on Friday there was an hour wait to speak to a human which I could not spare at the time.

It took around that today which is why I ended up staying home - I'd rather not discuss bank security details in a packed train carriage. Once I got through to someone it was soon sorted out though. It was as I thought - at some point an old, cancelled (but not destroyed) card had crossed paths with the in-use one (Probably when I moved all the cards I did not want to take to Newcastle out of my purse!). There was then confusion over which was which, I used the wrong one resulting in the stoppage of the "good" one too!

Both are now chopped up and safely disposed of, and I await receipt of a new one! 

Minstrel is my Blip today as I had a few other little jobs to do and I'm at work again tonight. I really hope he will give me proper set shifts tonight. I hate not knowing when I am next in from one shift to the next, it makes it really hard to organise my life outside work.

I do like my new job, but it can be a pretty long, dull night especially if we are not busy. Though Heki and Watan are lovely, they mostly chat in their own language - particularly when some of their friends come in, which is often. This is fine of course in itself, but obviously I can't join in.

So mostly I am standing on my own in the front waiting for customers. Any job I could do has been done, or can't be done until later and though the TV is on the volume is set too low to really follow what is happening.

Tonight should be quite busy though as the fair is in town, on the common just along the road from the shop. I'm walking to work for the first time tonight as Grace and Brian are both working. I'll allow half an hour. I was going to take my camera but will do that another night now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.