Over The Sea To Skye

We had  a communal breakfast with the most amazing views to distract from the haphazard service.  It was all a little disjointed, but my goodness there was loads  of food.  TT and I shared a continental platter, which came after enormous bowls of granola.  We packed our pastries up for later.
 
We all then went our own ways for the day .  We three plus L & R  had planned to climb Dun Caan, the highest hill on  the island.  We couldn’t persuade anyone else to join us.  After a couple of false starts we found the starting point.  Who knew that on an island with very few roads we could have gone the wrong way twice before we were sure we were on the right road.  We parked up and set off.  It was an easy walk,  and for the most part we were very lucky with the weather.  We were rewarded with amazing views from the top, and also the edge of a squally shower.  It had almost passed by the time we got our rain coats out.  It didn’t put BB off eating his packed lunch though.  The rest of us had a pastry each, leftover from our breakfast.  Meanwhile BB was dining on a sandwich, crisps, fruit and a cake of his choice 
 
We headed back down , retracing our steps, but avoiding the bog.  We were keen to go on to Calum’s Road, but didn’t have time as we had to be back at the distillery for a tour and tasting.  I was pretty sure I would be bored after about fifteen minutes.  BB didn’t want to come on the tour, so I thought I would drop out of the tour after fifteen minutes and we could go for a walk round the shore, in the opposite direction to our walk yesterday.  I didn’t get bored and neither did any of the other non-whisky drinkers.  We all stayed until the bitter end, so BB got to chill out for a couple of hours.  We had an external tour, an internal tour and then a visit to the warehouses.  We had a great guide and it was all really interesting.  TT and chums got to see their casks and we got to do some tasting down at the warehouse.  Even I did the tasting, though it was mostly lost on me
 
That set us up for pre-dinner drinks at the distillery bar, before wandering over to the hotel for dinner and another massive meal.  By around 9.45pm I was definitely ready for bed, but the walk back to the distillery woke me up and I had my first and only gin and tonic of the weekend. 
 
A fabulous day, in a fabulous place, with fabulous friends.  
 
This is a view over to the Cuillins on Skye, as we started our descent from Dun Caan.  The extra is in the whisky warehouse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.