Boats

I set my alarm to go off early this morning so I could fit in a wee walk before breakfast.  The alarm went off, and it seemed dark.  I dragged myself out of bed, peered round the curtains and it was very grey and raining.  I went back to bed and slept for another hour.  We were all mostly at breakfast early today as we were all heading home and had to catch the ferry.  Breakfast was more disorganised than yesterday.  We  three all passed on cereal this morning, and went for the fry up (veggie for me).  I can only speak for the veggie breakfast, but it was lovely, especially the vegan haggis.
We packed up our stuff.  What I really wanted to do was sit down at the window and read my book, while enjoying the view.  However, that was not to be, so we packed the car and headed down the road to get the ferry to Skye, before the long drive south.   The weather improved as we drove south – we could see Glen Shiel today which is one of my favourite bits of the journey.  We stopped in Blair Atholl for some lunch.  We got sandwiches from the Old Mill and enjoyed them in the park in the sunshine, under a bright blue sky.  We had a wee wander to stretch our legs before setting off again.
Overall the journey home took longer than the journey on Friday, the traffic was just much slower.  We are all weary.  It wasn’t long before BB was asking what was for tea.  I popped out for a walk to stretch my legs after sitting in the car for most of the day.  TT did some jobs in the garden.
 
What a fabulous weekend in a stunning location and a chance to spend time with a group of good friends.  We can’t wait to do it all again.
 
This is the old pier.  The ferry now leaves from a modern pier.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.