East Lothian

Today was always a holiday here, the September long weekend, so  BB and I were off school and work respectively anyway.  However the extra bank holiday has trumped it and we three have all been off today (although BB and I will get an extra day in due course).   Anyway, it has been lovely having a day off after our weekend away.  I started my day by finishing my book - Summer Water by Sarah Moss).  I like her writing and  enjoyed this book – even with its  unexpected ending. After doing a couple of loads of washing I headed out for a run.  It was a lovely morning – not too hot, not too cold (but warmer than the weather we had over the weekend).  It started off rather grey, but I felt like I was running into brighter weather, however it was grey again by the time I got home – seven miles later
 
There was more washing, then quite a lot of cooking to use up some of TT’s tomato glut, and there were of course demands for lunch.  TT was gardening until his back gave way.  He’s been quite unhappy and in pain  ever since that happened.  BB hasn’t been up to much today, but I did spot some homework being done and then he has had football training his evening.   I did so much washing I ran out of space to hang things out and also I ran out of clothes pegs, and the laundry basket is filling up again.
 
Tea was a roasted tomato risotto with prawns and peas and was very nice – even if I do say so myself.
 
We watched bits and pieces of today’s events, but only grabbing five minutes here and there.  TT did watch some more this afternoon when he really couldn’t do much else.  We are very good at pomp and pageantry in this country and it was interesting to watch.  I was surprised at how long it all lasted.  Just as well we got a full day off.
 
I went for a walk late this afternoon.  This is a view looking north towards north Berwick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.