On a grey day

We used to talk about getting square eyes by watching too much television. I'm getting rectangular eyes. I have been working from home for the past four weeks, mostly using my MacBook, and occasionally the iPad. Today has been different and yet the same.

The New Zealand branch of the RANZCP is having its annual scientific meeting today, tomorrow and Friday. I arranged to take leave, registered to attend, and booked accommodation. And then did nothing about transport. Nor anything about accommodation elsewhere than Queenstown (where the conference is) for the add-on holiday I anticipated having with S. Eventually, at the last minute in terms of no financial penalty I asked to change from attending and change to a remote registration. All very promptly organised.

And then along came Covid Delta and the level 4 Lockdown. The whole conference has became 'virtual'. I have sat in front of the screen for most of the morning and half the afternoon. When I was much younger I found that most conferences had too much that I was interested in. In more recent years, I do find myself with times of not wanting to sit still in any of the options on offer. That has been much more marked today as there are only two options at the same time.

Despite some connection issues, it has been good so far, and I've got some ideas from more than one of the presentations. More tomorrow.

The number of new Covid cases has gone up again; 23 reported yesterday. Only one is not connected to already known cases (yet, one hopes). Six are from one household where another family member had already had a positive swab. 

Over the lunch break for the conference I was able to get down and run around the water's edge from Southend to Algies and then climb the steps to Highfield Reserve. The little Tuturiwhatu I've blipped was alerted by my bright red running top, and I was unable to get close to it, nor see it  more from side-on. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.