The Great Kereru Count

S told me about the Great Kereru Count some days ago. In the last few months I have seen more Kereru in this area than ever before. One day I saw one further along Fidelis Ave as I started on my run, and as I came back from Highfield Reserve further up Fidelis I saw two in a couple of trees on one side of the road and 20 m further on another two in a different tree. That was before the count started. This Kereru is the first I have seen since I heard about the count. It was in a tree at the road frontage of the property, and allowed me to be close enough to get this photo.

A second day of papers from the conference. Again there were a number of things to make me think of what could be different about what I and the service do. One of the interesting facts which has been reported was that there was a decrease in the number of suicides recorded during the 50 days of our first big lockdown, and at the same time an increase in distressed calls to various crisis services.

The number of new Covid cases has dropped back to 15. Of course if there is spread due to the drop in level from Level 4 to 3, it won't show up for at least ten days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.