Grammy

By Grammy

Chicken in the Woods

Rain and sun fought it out today. Rain is winning. We were going to clean today since rain was in the forecast and rest tomorrow. Instead, since the sun was out all morning, we decided to go to town. I found several nice stocking stuffers for the men and we finished gathering gifts for our mother and elderly neighbor’s birthdays. On the way, my BIL stopped so I could get this photo. “Laetiporus is a genus of edible mushrooms found throughout much of the world. Some species, especially Laetiporus sulphureus, are commonly known as sulphur shelf, chicken of the woods, the chicken mushroom, or the chicken fungus because it is often described as tasting like and having a texture similar to that of chicken meat.” Wikipedia My sister firmly believes you should study nature and know what can be eaten in case of emergency. She wanted me to be aware of this fungi. We stopped at the Chinese buffet for lunch on the way home. We ran into a terrible storm and encountered five trees that had fallen on the road. My BIL and the guy in front of us worked hard to move two of them enough for vehicles to get by using only one lane. Other drivers had moved the rest. We were using generator power when we got back. Guess I should go help clean so we can enjoy tomorrow. Thanks so much for all the stars, hearts and sweet comments on my sun rise shot. “Study nature, love nature, stay close to nature. It will never fail you.” —Frank Lloyd Wright

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.