Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Broad-billed Hummingbird

The last of my three rapid-fire vacation back blip posts.
Check out the first two: a Rufous hummingbird and a male Black-chinned hummingbird (with a female extra).  Hope you like them.

Today I'm posting my fourth different species of hummingbird in as many days! This is a Broad-billed hummingbird - a nice colorful male. I chose to use the shot I caught in flight because it's not easy but I added one perched as an extra so you can get a really good look at his colors.  The orange bill is a dead give-away when you're around here.  There must be other hummingbirds in the new world with similar colored bills, just none I have heard of on this side of the border.

I hope everyone has enjoyed seeing such a wide variety of hummingbirds from this trip. Don't get spoiled. This sort of thing only happens twice a year. It was also nice to photograph these little gems again.  It's been quite a while.  I haven't really had my backyard set up for critters of any sort for two years. My heart hasn't been in it.  I hope that enthusiasm returns.  We'll see, I guess.

“You know you’re getting old when you stoop to tie your shoelaces and wonder what else you could do while you’re down there.”
—George Burns

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.