Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Black-chinned Hummingbird

This is the second of three rapid-fire posts of vacation back blips.

I finally got a male hummingbird when I caught this black-chinned.  Another name that makes a lot of sense.  His chin (throat, gorget) is...(guess the color) and has a pretty purple ring around its neck.  Given the right light, the purple really stands out. I As extras I included a female of the same species so you can compare them and another view of the male in a different pose caught in the same burst. Couldn't decide which to blip.

It's been rather weird up here on this trip.  There's only one person working in the shop/lodge who has been there for any length of time but she only works 3 days. The rest are all young ladies who don't know a bird from a shoe. They're nice enough but it would be cool to have someone to chat with about the wildlife.  Even the guests have been weird - not very talkative.  I asked one woman as she passed by my porch on her way back to her casita if she had seen anything interesting. (That's kind of my icebreaker).  She said "Yes" and kept on walking.  The day visitors have been pleasant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.