The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Umbrellas of Stroud

These umbrellas are apparently promoting awareness of Neurodiversity, as well as welcoming shoppers back to the streets of the UK's towns. They're jolly and certainly add to the general feeling of carnival that prevails in Stroud.

I'd nipped out from the market to the bank to get change. To my surprise, the HSBC had got rid of all its counters and told me to go to the Post Office. They asked me for my HSBC sort code and account number. I couldn't remember my HSBC sort code, so had to go back there and ask for it, then return to the PO to restart queueing. Yawn. Then I bought some magazine files in another shop, and returned to the market, where I still hadn't missed any customers!

The man on the right of this image looks as if he is up to something shady in the shop doorway, but no, he's just adjusting his face mask. Very 2021. I am pleased to report that sales did pick up in the market as the day progressed. A person is chatted to s couple of weeks ago came back with two friends, and they all bought five cards each. Very cheering!

I also took my phone out to the churchyard and sorted out a problem with HMRC. I spend a lot of time on the phone with them, because of having more than one job.

Back home, I was tired and went for a Zzzz. Friend J, with whom I'd arranged to have a drink after work, had stood me up at the last minute. By that time, I just wanted to get home, ideally to get on with chopping tree branches. However, as reported above, sleep took over before I even got outside.

That's all for today. I hope tomorrow will be good 'un in the market.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.