On the way out

I wish I could remember the name of the nightclub that apparently used to operate in the building on the corner of Pitt Street and South Fort Street, which has been empty for the entire time we’ve lived here. Sadly I cannot, although perhaps someone can remind me. Anyway, it’s being demolished. It’s a small plot and a narrow and quite long building, constrained by the railway path on the south side, South Fort Street on the east side, Pitt Street on the north side, and other buildings on the west side. I’m not sure about the viability of demolishing the building, effectively by hand (see blip) and then rebuilding something on this small plot. We shall see….

We were on our way at lunchtime to meet RZ and her mum IZ at Milk for lunch. A lovely and quite emotional reunion.

I spent the rest of the day chained to my laptop, although I had started the day by improving my 45 minute best on the spinning bike by 5%, which is the sort of incremental improvement that pleases me.

The Achilles’ tendon is still not right, but it is slightly better than yesterday.

Three episodes of the house through time in the evening - the Headingley one. I spent a lot of time trying to figure out whether it was a house in that terrace, or perhaps somewhere slightly further away (but definitely Grosvenor something, if not Grosvenor Mount) that I considered buying in 1996, a year after the current owners moved into their house on Grosvenor Mount. It raised a number of memories. In the end, I bought a house a little further away from the university which was in walk in condition, which wasn’t really the case for the one I considered buying. Forks in the road, eh…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.