The Firth like a Mill Pond

I’ve been called many things by my children in my time and not all of them endearing, but I did laugh when Porty daughter called me a ‘crazy old bird’ today.

The reason was, I noticed there was a high tide at Portobello beach just after 7am this morning , so I planned a journey down to see how things were and for a dip in the briny. This was not just a case of walking a few hundred yards as in Cullen but involved a mile walk into town to catch the famous 26 bus to Portobello and then a shortish walk to the sand.- 50 minutes altogether.

It was worth the effort in the end, the sea was flat calm and it was mild . Porty daughter met me and looked after my goods and chattels while I was immersed and then we went to the Beach House café for coffee.

Once home and more suitably clad,I had a quick turn around to take a gingerbread down to the gallery for Daughter#1.

David and Luca are popping in soon and I’m trying to stay awake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.