The glow

Another day without straying too far. We did go shopping this morning, and lugged the heavy bags up the stairs. Still no lift… Apparently, they have not even taken the motor away for rewinding, or hadn’t done by Friday… I have no idea when it will get fixed, but it won’t be in time for our mini renovations in November.

On that topic, a couple of steps of progress. Someone else in the development wanted our sliding wardrobe doors, as all of the flats in the development, pretty much, all have the same wardrobes and they had some cracked glass in theirs when they moved in. Mr A helped our neighbour wrestle two doors downstairs, so now we have a wardrobe without doors, which is fine for a few weeks. In addition, a contact via hazelh who will be able to help us with some of the “DIY” components that are more than we want to get involved in got in touch, and is calling round on Tuesday. Pleased about that. Just need to track down an electrician now.

I’m not quite sure what I’ve frittered the rest of the day away on. I did some peer review work first thing this morning after breakfast, finishing a job I started on Friday which needed to be done by Monday at the latest. I tried to set up a new laptop this evening, but problems occurred so I now need to contact the IT people to see if they can help and see whether I can take the laptop back in, perhaps on Tuesday. I did a bit of exercise, nothing too strenuous, but mainly exercising bits of me I have been neglecting recently. I made a pretty tasty sausage pasta dish for dinner. And that’s about it, really. Where did the day go? Where has the weekend gone? Well, it was intentionally a quiet one, as last weekend was far from quiet, and then we have a couple of busy ones coming up, and then the renovations, which are going to be quite disturbing, but will be good when they are done.

One thing I didn’t do, is go out looking for fuel. We have well over 350 miles left in our tank, which - all things being equal - could well last us until Christmas (what Christmas I hear you say, given shortages…). However, I heard that there hasn’t been a major issue of panic buying in Edinburgh. But that may just be the snobbery of the Burgh… who knows?

Anyway, I got my blip first thing, when a glow settled on the turd. Can turds glow? This one can. After that, the weather got generally better, and I believe that temperatures over 20 degrees were recorded. However, it was quite windy and so we couldn’t sit out, even though we gave some thought to beer on the balcony. On the other hand, I’ve kept the door open most of the day, and even now it isn’t cold at all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.