Social distancing

What started off as a pretty poor day for me (at least the way I felt) got better as things went on. Maybe (probably), I had too much wine on Friday night, so I was feeling pretty meh when I got up. However, we went out for a walk up to the weir and around, fancing a cup of something and a bun at Milk. In fact, Milk looked packed so we gave that a miss. I distracted myself on the walk figuring out the slightly different algorithms being applied by my new fitbit to record 'activity' and Mr A distracted himself using the M6 and the new macro lens he has bought himself. So in a sense we both had the camera set up with us, which is unusual.

In the afternoon, the weather got brighter (if not that much warmer), and we headed into town together, for the first time in months, using the Number 10 which is currently coming along Bonnington Road because of the roadworks on Leith Walk. That broke our bus duck, as we hadn't been on one since March 15. Our destination was the City Art Gallery, where we'd booked a slot for a mid afternoon viewing of the two exhibitions that have been mounted in order to get things moving, on the cultural front, once again. The exhibitions are not great, but they are good enough, and I found myself having quite an emotional reaction to viewing art again in the flesh. This was particularly so in front of the [url=https://artuk.org/discover/artworks/search/keyword:joan-eardley]Joan Eardley[/url] they had on view from their collection (Girl in a Striped Cardigan - a little gem), as well as the Wilhelmina Barns-Graham picture Rocks, which was the first thing we saw coming off the escalator. Generally, we thought the women were the stars of the show in relation to the works from the City Art Centre collecton.

Anyway, the whole experience was lovely. In addition to the exhibition, we managed to get a 'cup and a bun' (coffee and a brownie) in the relatively new coffee shop (Gordon Street - an import from Glasgow) in the ground floor of the posh new hotel on Market Street (called Market Street). We walked back across Waverley Bridge (which doesn't look much like this any more), where I got my blip (how different to this view from November last year - a sight that thankfully won't be repeated this coming Christmas) and we picked up a bus home on George Street. Mr A found the streets a bit full; I found town to be reasonably nicely buzzing.

In amongst, a few emails secured us the possibility of turning some other people's bad luck and misfortune into our gain. We're going to spend a week on Mull. That definitely brightened the day. Hopefully, the wifi will be fine for the zoom commitments I have during that time....

Some fairly nonsense TV rounded off the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.