WILLOW PATTERN

HeartFreeks challenge word today is " Pattern " so I dug out a couple of willow pattern plates. 

Even though Willow Pattern has a Chinese look it was actually created in England in 1780 by engraver Thomas Minton. Then, Minton sold the design to potter Thomas Turner who mass-produced the pattern on earthenware. This is known as chinoiserie, basically European interpretations of Chinese decorative styles. While the classic version of the Willow Pattern is blue, it was also created in pink, brown, and even multi-colored. Collectors and experts still typically favour the blue variety.

To be a true Willow Pattern it must include:~

 Willow trees
 Chinese pine trees
  A bridge with three men on it
  A fence
  A boat
  A teahouse (or pagoda)
  and two birds in flight.

The weather today was wet.  Its more or less rained for the whole day.  And its been chilly too.  I stayed  warm and dry indoors until it was time to venture out and go to slimming club.  I didn't see anyone else walking as I made my way to the Church Hall in the village.   I lost another 1½ pounds this week. 

Still raining as I made my way home.  I was glad to get indoors and straight into my PJ's.  Had a nice tea of ham, pease pudding and ( Slimming World ) chips. 

Steps today - 7,810

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.