Rain

Lots of it about today.

A later than planned start on the trip to take Ruth back to Birmingham turned out well in the end.   It was torrential at times on the way there and as I unloaded her stuff but by the time I came away, around 6pm, the rain had mostly cleared away and as a bonus, the roads were less busy than earlier too.   We shopped for Ruth on the way there and I stopped at the same place in Welshpool on the way back for some shopping of my own.  I also filled up with petrol at a well stocked filling station with no queues :-)

I snatched this pic of Crocus tournefortii in the rain before I left.  Look how the goblet shaped flower has filled with water!   It's one of only two species where the flowers stay open in dull weather and at night, most likely pollinated by night flying insects in it's wild habitats.   An extra pic of Ruth's windowsill garden ... yes, one of those tomato plants is at least eight feet tall!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.