Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Three days to view

Julie and I went to the Side Gallery today to see the exhibition Youth Rising

It brings together the work of nine photographers who have documented young people over a 40 year period from 1981 - 2021.

It is well worth seeing but closes after 3rd October. You are asked to book, but they accept "walk ins" too.

I want to particularly commend the work of Chris Killip. He documented young people in the little coastal village of Skinningrove. It was just outside my practice area when I was a GP in Skelton in Cleveland. The images are brilliant and the video of Chris talking about his work is well worth seeing (more than once for me). See it on YouTube

Julie and I repaired to a lovely little French restaurant near the central station. We were given the last table. Lunch was delicious and eaten in a leisurely fashion while we chatted. Just delightful.

I took the train in and back, to and from Newcastle. That was a relaxing way to travel.

My extra is the very cheery train guard who was checking out tickets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.