If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Night night.

Over winter Clickychick and I treated ourselves to a nest box with a wifi camera in.  I had great hopes for the breeding season and we did see a Great Tit going in and out a number of times but nothing came of it.

A week or so ago I saw a Blue Tit going in so I thought "Ah"  prospecting possible nest sites for next year.  Checking the camera recently I found the bird was in and out a lot.  It is known that some birds particularly hole nesting birds will roost in winter in nest boxes.  I didn't expect them to start this early, not that I blame it it has been a horrible cold day and very wet.

The camera shows it entered the box just before 5:30.  It pottered about and preened for a while and by 5:35 it was tucked up, fathers fluffed to keep in more warmth and in the land of nod.  This shot is of my phone, I haven't yet worked out how to get photos off on to the laptop.  The shot is slightly distorted as the phone is longer than the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.