...and a Crime Scene

A day without a
sunrise - grey, damp windy... and
a river crime scene

~ carliewired

Although I was up early, a look out the window told me there was no need to hurry out this morning. Cloud was thick, showers were promised and the wind was rattling the trees around the house. I would not be enjoying a sunrise today. 

I left about 7, picking up my drive-thru breakfast before heading over the bridge to Mission Flats. I planned to munch while taking my shots along the river. It was 10 C and rather windy. Some areas had already received some rain.

I sipped my coffee and made some stops to views along the south shore. Now that the river level is low, the sandbars and river banks are once again a place for recreation. The vegetation along the river's edge is thick and tangled. 

I had a thought to finish my breakfast at the end of the road, but as I came over the rise I could see flashing lights. I stopped short of the vehicles parked on the road's end. I parked and munched my breakfast while I waited and watched. I could see a police tape across the road. 

A police officer came forward and drew up beside me. I'm sure he was curious about who I might be and what this grey-haired woman was doing there. I rolled down my window and we had a short pleasant chat. I said I  was out taking photos as I do each morning. He told me there was a crime scene and that I wouldn't be able to get through on the road for some time yet. He pointed out the pelicans on the river, then turned his vehicle around to return to the further location. 

I got my pelican shots and a couple more river views and headed home for the 8:30 news. 

We are not well-served for local news here on weekends. I will see what I can find about this crime. 

Meanwhile, our provincial public health officer has been shamed into extending the mask mandate to all children in school starting on Monday. Several school districts beat her to it, making masks a requirement for Kindergarten to grade 12. When school began a month ago, only students grades 4 to 12 were required to wear masks. 

On Friday, the number of covid exposures in schools in our health region jumped to 68 from 41 on Thursday. 

To have begun the school year with no extra protection/precautions over the previous school year is pure folly. I am disgusted with the lack of thought here. We have a new variant that is highly virulent and a school population that is largely unvaccinated. How did our Public Health Officer not put these two factors together? She made a point of explaining that her new mandate did not come from pressure, but from the data now presented. I know that parents and teachers have been screaming about this for months now. I have completely lost faith in this Public Health Officer's ability to lead and direct. 

We're looking at a mainly cloudy day with possibility of showers and a high of 18 C.

UPDATE: 1 PM October 2/21
https://cfjctoday.com/2021/10/02/body-found-near-mission-flats-landfill-suspicious-death-investigation-underway/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.