Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

That Moment in Time

is the name of my poem I read at the monthly meeting of the Bray Poetry Circle today at mid-day. You can attend and just listen, or read a poem by another or read your own work. It was a lovely occasion at the old bandstand in the People’s Park. A motley crew of poets, listeners, open minded people.

I was awake in the early hours as one of the Tinys decided that 4.20am was a good time to flex their lung power. Oh dear.

Their parents picked them up at 8.30am after mounds of porridge were chucked around the kitchen and Peppa Pig got drowned out in a chorus of “I want my Mammy”.

I have never been so exhausted from chasing 3 tinys around the house… saving them from electrocution, eyes getting poked out and general emotional de-regulation.

I jest (sort of) but oh the relief from wondering if another nappy needed changing… and as they drove away - all safely unharmed - I tried not to smile with relief.

I packed my swim things and headed down to the beach for a swim. It was so lovely and my blip shows the colours of the sea and sky and the simple beauty of nature.

My extra is of the poem (in its entirety another day), with a bunch of heavily scented roses given to me by my son who attended a lovely wedding in Dublin yesterday and somehow managed to embezzle some of the flowers of the day for his Mammy. He knows how I adore roses. The scent from these is pure perfume.

https://flowerfarmersofireland.ie/grower/the-vintage-rose-company/

I had a relaxing afternoon on the couch with my dogs and watched Rocky (I am a fan of Sylvester Stallone)

That Moment in Time was written by me to describe how I felt when I made a big decision in my life.

It opens with…

That Moment in Time
When the chairs are stacked and the floor is mopped

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.