ANOTHER ONE FOR PINKTOBER

We both slept very well, although Mr. HCB woke up with backache - when you get to our age, you often don’t take too kindly to changes - and a king size bed with a softer mattress than you are used to can cause this.  However, he thinks an extra pillow tonight might help!

We popped down the road to a little farm shop and bought a few things, had a very nice cup of coffee and brought them back to our cottage before driving into Richmond where we had a lovely wander around.  A Romanian lady was selling The Big Issue, so I gave her some money, but said I didn’t want the magazine - and hoped it she would be able to sell it to someone else.  She was very grateful and blessed me, so I blessed her back - she asked if I was a Christian and when I said I was, asked if I would pray for her eye, as she couldn’t see very well, so I did it there and then - no time like the present, as they say!

I had seen a pink door yesterday so we went back to the street and I stood over the road to take a shot - several couples walked by and this couple hung back so that I could take the shot.  However, I told them that I would be very grateful for them to be in it, especially as the lady was wearing a bright pink anorak, which fitted in very well with Breast Cancer Awareness Month, so as you can see, they smiled as they walked past.

We wandered near Richmond Castle, but decided not to go in as the sky had begun to get rather dark and if it started raining, we were quite a long way from the car park.  

On our way back, we walked around Friary Park and spotted the tree carving by Dutch-born Lucas Beben, which I have put in as an extra.  Looking online, I discovered that the tree had been felled in 2016 for safety reasons, as it was diseased, but rather than just cutting it down, the carving was commissioned, which fits well into the natural surroundings, near the ruins of the Friary.  We had a wander round the gardens admiring the autumn flowers, before walking back to the car through another park,  just before the heavens opened.

I’m sure you know the drill by now - please click on this LINK so that those not fortunate enough to be able to get a free mammogram will benefit from your click.  Thank you so much.

We are now back in our warm and cosy little cottage with the rain lashing down on the windows - I think an afternoon of reading and just chilling out will suit us fine.

“My cancer scare changed my life.
     I’m grateful for every new, healthy day I have.
It has helped me prioritise my life.”
Olivia Newton-John

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments for yesterday’s Blip, which are much appreciated.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.