Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Tracks

It was a cloudy and sometimes rainy day.  I had an entire list of invention ideas but settled on the train tracks to represent the steam engine. Thomas Savery invented the first crude steam engine in 1698 for use in mining. Thomas Newcomen advanced Savery's work by adding a cylinder.  
It wasn't until James Watt made significant improvements on the Newcomen steam engine. His 1769 patent included a separate condenser connected to a cylinder by a valve. The condenser kept the cylinder cool. His engine became the dominant design and helped bring about the industrial revolution.  Energy production is now measured in Watts! 

I was standing on the railroad tracks near a street intersection when a Sahuarita police officer saw me.  He was not pleased. He claimed I was breaking the law but said he wouldn't charge me if I moved along. He was full of nonsense. It may not be the best idea to be standing on rails but it certainly isn't illegal. Ask any hobo! :-)

I've been fascinated by old trains since I was a young child.  My dad was a brakeman on the South Buffalo Railroad in the 1960s.  Mom used to tell us to wave to him every time we saw a caboose.
----------------------
I'm really glad the dedicated mono challenge blippers did what they could to find the themes. My post on the challenge page kept making it into the Zendesk spam folder.  I'm cursed! 

Here's the list for the rest of the month:
11 Oct MM403 invented in the 19th century
18 Oct MM404 invented in the 20th century
25 Oct MM405 any invention

The idea is to recreate/model or creatively interpret the invention of your choice. Please include the name of the invention, the inventor and the year it was invented

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.