JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 278: leaf

This is a single, brightly contrasting leaf of a perennial geranium. It stood out from the tangled border, the only one so brightly coloured with such distinct veins, grabbing my attention as I hung the laundry.

It's been a changeable day, with brief spells of dazzling sunlight bringing intense, saturated colours, then banks of tall clouds returning the world to flat grey. I went across the road for my usual Tuesday coffee in C's conservatory, and gazed out at his beautiful array of yellowing trees against brilliant blue sky, wishing I had not limited myself to the macro lens. While C was making coffee I tried to photograph his tiny autumn cyclamen, but wasn't very satisfied with any of the results, and my knees struggled. My yoga teacher said a couple of years ago, in the distant days when I went to a weekly class in the village hall, that knees were not designed to last as long as most of us now do. C and I exchanged news of what we are currently picking and he offered corn cobs. He keeps telling me how slow he has become, and he certainly moves less easily than he used to, but his garden is still looking wonderful by any standards. Not many 93 year olds maintain a large garden unaided and share produce with such generosity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.