JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 279: hairy caterpillar

I think this is probably a hairy brown-tail moth caterpillar, but am open to correction. Kent Online has some slightly alarmist reports from not too far from hear about "infestations" last summer, warning that their hairs can cause nasty allergic reactions. When I found this one on the underside of a rhubarb leaf yesterday afternoon, I thought it was rather pretty; I brought it to the house with the box of vegetables I had harvested and left it on the deck, where it obligingly waited until I could return with my camera an hour or more later. I'm catching up now, having posted today's photos, because yesterday was a long day, ending with a very late dinner after taking J for an evening CT scan, which is a challenging and rather long-drawn out experience for someone with quadriplegic cerebral palsy and lots of involuntary movement. When I downloaded my photos towards midnight, I was pleased to find that most of the 37 caterpillar shots were more or less in focus but being indecisive at the best of times, I could not face trying to decide which to retain and post.

As I'm back-blipping this after today's photos, do flick forward to my Abstract Thursday shots if you have time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.