Garden spider

I took a lot of photos last Thursday, when I went to hang laundry outside and found a nice spider with stiped legs spinning a thread between the anemone heads below my washing line. The light was good and the spider, which I think is a garden or diadem spider, common in UK gardens, seemed unconcerned about my proximity. I've finally sorted through them all and chosen my main and two extra photos. I was pleased to have a number I thought were reasonable; one would be enough, but I couldn't decide. I think it's my first serious attempt at spider photography, and I was fascinated to watch how it moved and used its legs. 

I like the inclusion of the anemone head and the background colours in the main photo, but the highlights are perhaps a bit too bright. I like the hairy detail of the first extra, but as it was closer, the depth of field is limited, despite the small aperture. The second extra seems quite well focused, and I like the somewhat monkey-like view of its underside and eyes, but I wonder if the level of contrast and colour variation in the background is a bit distracting. Opinions welcome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.