EARLY BIRDS

What a difference a day makes, weatherwise anyway.  So glad I went out yesterday as today has been very grey.

We had to take my car into be serviced by 8.30 this morning  The garage we use is next to Grange Railway Station.  So I decided I would take a walk out onto the marshes - somewhat muddy and slippy but I made it.  Well mud, once dried just brushes off doesn't it!!!!!??

Anyway whilst out there photographing this scene.  I noticed a few birds so I took photos of them.  Sadly they were too far for me to be able to get a great shot of them.  I've put a little collage togerher of what I saw.  It was still nice seeing them evenn at a distance.

I liked the trio of birds, maybe redshanks - certainly long billed sea birds.  I think there may also have been a curlew and there was definitely a cormorant.  

Then back home to crack on with some housework.  Exciting huh!!!

Did any of you local (Cumbrian) folk see a programme on the BBC the other night all about Arnside.  The programme is about coastal villages and their industrial history as well as social history.  It was very interesting. I learned about a local family called the Crossfields who were boat builders.  I never knew Arnside had any boat builders there before and these were quite significant.   Here is a little something about the Crossfields of Arnside.

That is all for today. Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.