The Ficus Tree

Well, of course my photo is not of a ficus tree, but of a dahlia with a busy bee. I like that you can just see the dusting of pollen on his head and legs. 

Back to the ficus tree. I had a young plant given to me by a neighbor 3 years ago. Each summer I take it outside and put it in a protected corner of the house and water it with the hose all summer long. It's been out since maybe end of April. It's gotten bigger and this year clearly needed a new pot, so repotted it this afternoon. It's HUGE! It's now taller than I am! How am I going to take it outside again next summer? I could barely get it back in the house! Now what? Maybe it can be my Christmas tree this year ;-)

I also repotted my Christmas Cactus which has also grown huge. Pictures to come, I can assure you.

Meanwhile, there's been a mouse living in our kitchen pantry....I discovered the evidence when I cleaned the cupboard out last Monday. I figured the cat had brought it in and it escaped into the cupboard. So I cleaned up the evidence but there was mouse poop again a couple of days later. Long story short, we found the mouse today, captured it and took it out to the far boundary of the garden. The cat didn't seem remotely interested...but the mouse I'm sure was hungry, thirsty and delighted not to be someone's plaything. What a day! I'm exhausted (or I could say "pooped"!) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.