Royal Border Bridge

An early start. I haven’t been on a train since March 2020, but this morning  I headed off with TT and caught the train I used to get to work.  There were six carriages and it was empty.  There were never six carriages when I used to commute into work.  Once in Edinburgh I had some time to kill before catching another train to Berwick.  It all felt like a big adventure.  I met up with a friend who I haven’t seen for over two years – she had travelled up from Newcastle.  It was a great reunion.  We had a wander to the lighthouse, then we had a long lunch sitting in the sunshine, then we went for another walk up river– and all the time chatting.  There was a lot of chat as so much to catch up on.  It was a lovely day – the sun was shining and it got really warm in the afternoon.  All too soon it was time for me to get my train back to Edinburgh and then to rendezvous with TT to get a lift home.
Meanwhile BB had a maths test this morning, then was heading off for his practice walk/expedition for his DofE.  TT had to go and pick him up from Gullane Beach at 9pm.  The Council would not let them camp overnight, due to ongoing Covid restrictions, so they had to come home to sleep.  He seems to have had a great day and even the maths test went well.
I was really weary this evening – maybe too much sea air, too much  walking or too much chat – or a combination of all three.
This is the Royal Border Bridge over the River Tweed – the bridge for trains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.