River Tyne

I slept through my alarm.  Disaster, though not as bad as it could have been.  What’s worse is that TT knew I had slept though my alarm and didn’t wake me up.  Grr!  He was heading to work today, though not as early as he wouldn’t normally.  That meant I was on the rugby run.  We had to leave by 8:30 and then pick up one of BB’s team mates and then we were off to find Lasswade rugby club.  We found it easily enough, but no thanks to the sat nav.  Luckily I had studies a real map last night so had a vague idea of where I was heading.  It was a lovely morning, bright blue sky, but windy and chilly when not in the sun.
 
The boys played well, but were beaten.  They had a female referee which I was really pleased to see,  They were less happy with her refereeing decisions.  After the game I left them to it, as another dad was taking the three who also play football down to Kelso for a football match.   I had a very slow journey home, and I am sure they made better progress to Kelso.  BB said they got their twenty minutes before the game started which was good going.  Meanwhile back at home, I was doing multiple loads of laundry and a few chores around the house.  Later in the afternoon, I went for a walk, just because it was a lovely afternoon and life is too short to spend all your time doing housework – not that I ever spend all my time doing housework!  It was a lovely autumnal walk.  There was a hint of rain at one point, when I was quite far from home, but thankfully it didn’t come to anything.
 
TT got home not long after me and as neither of us could be bothered cooking, BB requested fish and chips – which to be honest neither TT or I were really up for – but that is indeed what we had for tea.  Later the boys watched a Lord of the Rings movie and I had an early night.
 
A view down river from my walk this afternoon.  Just out of shot is a person collecting potatoes out of a harvested field.  It reminded me of The Gleaners..  The extra is a wee gold finch which was rummaging around in the grass - but didn't fly away.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.