Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Picking sloes

After two nosebleeds yesterday, we both hoped that Mum would be fine today. Instead, she had a migraine just as I was leaving to go and visit Eric and Kay.

There is not much to do when the medication and analgesics have been administered, so she sent me off west, to Thorngrafton.

We had a coffee and a good chat, then did a short walk from their house to Beltingham village and back. It's about 3.5 miles. On the way back, we picked sloes ready to make sloe gin. I stood in a patch of nettles to pick, but I found it was not too painful if I did not move my legs!!

Lunch was delicious homemade  sweet potato and rosemary soup and followed by a lime and ginger drizzle cake. 

When I came home, Mum was recovering. Kate was here and looking through all the birthday cards. She missed the party because she was on holiday. Her current job is to set up vaccination stations for Covid vaccines - Hexham is definitely not one of hers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.