An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Guard dog!

Dramatic start to the day.  

David opened the pull-out larder cupboard and a jar of marmalade promptly fell from the top shelf onto the floor and smashed.  Lola was quickly ushered out of the room till all the glass and contents of the jar were cleared up.  

I took this opportunity to remind David that I have already, very kindly, asked him NOT  to (hear my tone)  balance glass jars precariously on top of other glass jars, on the top shelf of the pull-out larder cupboard (it's definitely him who does it because I can't reach!) 

This request was previously made when the same thing happened with another jar of marmalade, and again when it happened with a jar of mango chutney. 

I know he made a face behind my back as I said this (he thinks I can't tell but I do have eyes in the back of my head) and well, hell mend him because when he opened the cupboard again a few minutes later, a jar of jam came crashing to the floor!  

I don't like to say I told you so, BUT I FECKING TOLD YOU SO!  Honestly!  Why are (some ;-) men so thrawn?! 

So todays's blip.. Lola after her walk up at the Cloan Estate.  Shattered!  she is lying on the mat at the front door supposedly protecting us from the marauders who are outside renovating the out building!  She gave three barks before deciding her job there was done....and lay down.

Of course she was also lying down there as David had left to go and play golf so she was also doing her best pining for you act!  lol

David hadn't gone long when Christine reported to me that the wall sockets at Alan's end of the house weren't working..Then the doorbell rang (cue Lola waking from her slumbers and sliding into full on protect mode!) It was one of the workmen to say they'd tripped a fuse.  Got that sorted without any further problems.

After lunch it was back to baking.  More Empire biscuits.  For a good cause though :-)

The singing group that David has been a member of for years and years hasn't met up in person to rehearse since February 2020 for obvious reasons.  They have met over zoom in the intervening time but just to chat and keep in touch.  No singing.  Tomorrow evening though, the group (all 16 of them!) are getting together once more.  It will be a joyous evening I am sure, but also very poignant as during the intervening months they sadly lost their musical director Ronnie to cancer.

Part of the discussion tomorrow evening will be whether the group can and want to continue without Ronnie.  He really was the heart and soul of it.  I think the majority are keen to continue, but that will require the services of another musical director and Ronnie's are big shoes to fill.  Either way I am sure they will work it out for the best.

So to sweeten what will be an emotional discussion, D asked if I would make some Empire biscuits for him to take along (apparently they were being discussed on last week's zoom chat as one of the group members had seen them on FB :-)   I was happy to oblige. 

I hope they enjoy them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.