A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Summer Visitors

Not only did summer visit today, but so did a Monarch Butterfly. I was shocked to see it on the marigolds because it’s the first one I’ve seen in weeks. Unfortunately both wings were crumpled which I believe is OE, a condition caused by parasites. I will do more reading on it but it’s the first time I’ve seen it and it’s concerning. If anyone knows more about it please feel free to share • The warmer temperatures brought out the raccoons last night. Two seed feeders were on the ground this morning (thank goodness they didn’t haul them into the woods), the suet feeders were empty and the water in the birdbath was dirty. For a couple of weeks in September I removed these feeders at night as a deterrent but then stopped. Raccoons/Visitors -1 and Home Team - 0 • Let the games begin! • The sudden warmth has increased the insect population too. Bugs are everywhere today! They’re buzzing by the windows, hanging on screens, crawling on trim boards - Yikes! • Homemade pizza and Vino are on the menu tonight. Maybe a scary movie too. Gigantic beetles invade a small, sleepy town in rural Maine - if I don’t post tomorrow, send help, or maybe flowers because by then it will be too late ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.