Booster Day

Mum, Aileen and Zeena heading up the ramp to the Vaccine Centre for their booster.  I call them ‘The Eens’ as along with Loreen and my mum Doreen there is a lot of Eeeeee’s haha.  All went well.  Most of Isla Court had their appointment on the morning .  These three decided they would get a taxi but I was there to see they go in ok and S was on duty for the early shift so he saw they were fine inside.

I was on duty later and we were back to full lines of vaccinators as the over 70 boosters and where appropriate , flu jags were being administered.  Mum already had hers at the GP.  The place was buzzing, so many oldies!  I was on the lines, taking them up to the next vaccinator.  We had the Disney Queue, then on to the 40 seats for onward to get the vaccine.  Some were quite frail, all were understanding of the wait, hardly any DNA’s.  They all turn up!  Lots of laughs and helping out of chairs. One sweet old guy who I helped up from the chair said that it was a long time since he had a lady on his arm so I kept hold of him and we walked arm in arm up the lane to the vaccinator.  Aww .  There was a sad moment when these two elderly ladies, who were friends were sitting together and one of them told me that they both lost their husbands within one month of each other last January/February, 2020.  She was talking about how the husband's obviously never knew a thing about the Covid pandemic, what they would have thought of it and how she wanted him there to discuss all that was happening in their lives, and how much it changed what they were able to do.  That she missed that.  You forget, or don't think how the pandemic affects people with fragile health, and also widows or widowers, recently bereaved and so used to having someone with them and then going through the lockdown on their own while dealing with grief.  It made me think.

Last appts were at 1850.  Finished at 1930 pretty exhausted. As i was taking the later arriving folks up I would ask them if they had had their tea and what they ate.  I was starving and wanted some food chat (even although it was brief) LOL 

Great teamwork today and I clocked up 12.5k steps in that shift.

Asleep by 2200!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.