Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Voila - Colombia Day 1

This is a picture of a picture and as soon as I get internet sorted out on my Mac, I will replace this with the real deal.  This amazing creature is a long tailed sylph, one of the hummingbird species I was most hoping to see.  They cling to the flower rather than hovering and I am told they never visit feeders, only flowers.  

After a very long day of travel, I finally got to my hotel a bit before 1 am.  The bed was welcoming and comfortable and I collapsed into it.  Met my driver at noon and he took me up into the mountains for a magical afternoon.  I probably saw at least 30 new species of birds and took a little over 600 shots.  I was definitely in my happy place!  The whole group (the remaining 5 arrived today) are headed back to the same place tomorrow and I can’t wait.  

I already love Columbia.  The people seems lovely even though not much English is spoken, and the countryside around Cali beautiful. And empanadas for dinner tonight which were yummy.

I am going to try to keep up with up with blipping but it is possible that I may miss some days and back-blip.

Nothing chocolate today but I had an absolutely amazing espresso (and I don’t like coffee…)

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.