Needs Tweeking.

This double 'box' is what I was working on yesterday.
I thought it had the look of a face with a duelling scar across one eye so I was going to make the lid for that side out of ebony to look like an eye patch - but the piece I have has too many cracks and voids. So I made the lids out of holly so that the grain pattern would look like eyes. SWMBO took one look and said it looked like a pair of nipples.
Back to the drawing board for these lids.
It turns out that when I was turning the right hand 'bowl' the thing was a fraction out of being flat to the tool so the lip that the lid sits in isn't 'flat and the front is a fraction higher than the back, so I am going to have to try and get that sorted. Bummer.
Still, on the up side, I have two ready made nipples lids for wee boxes. 

The two pieces in the extras are the weed pot that went wrong the other day and a 'vessel' made from a load of offcuts and left over resin.

SWMBO is feeling a bit better today I am glad to say - but not well enough to go to lunch with her sisters (2 of them are the loudest women in the world).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.