A fishy tail

It’s a shame that we are not enjoying an evening out with C and K tonight, but C phoned this morning to say she was a close contact of someone who seems likely to have tested positive for the dreaded virus, and while she had done a negative lateral flow, she really wanted a PCR and can’t get one until her close contact has been confirmed… So, out an abundance of caution, they decided not to drive down from Dundee, and we cancelled dinner and went on our own for drinks at Campervan. Tsk. They are hoping to come down in a fortnight. It was a bit unfortunate as I had previously turned down a party invitation for this evening, but while it could have been resuscitated, we decided in the end we preferred to go for out just for a quick drink to Campervan.

I don’t quite know where today has gone, but it has gone… We did a bit more preparation for the wardrobe fitting. I walked down to market, bought pies and fish, and some meat. In the end, I used some mutton mince to make a scratch supper which we hadn’t really expected to make, of a spicy mutton pilau adapted from a BBC Good Food recipe. I also did a different sort of workout this afternoon, which wasn’t just cycling - a “boot camp”. I need to do more of those. It’s always tempting just to get on the bike, and forget about other muscles needing working. Very little work. A few emails, and nothing else, which was probably a good thing. I will need to do some stuff tomorrow to get ahead of the coming week.

This afternoon I finished Any Human Heart, and made a bit of a start on Klara and the Sun. In the end, I really enjoyed Any Human Heart. William Boyd is always my kind of writer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.