Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Visit to the slate quarry

This is a back blip. I was too tired to open the computer last night at the end of a bracing day. Yes, it rained in the morning. We toiled up the hill to the slate quarry. At times the rain stopped and the slate glistened beautifully. At times, it just poured!

I chose the image for my blip because it shows a foundation of ancient rock,  a layer of slate and then a building of slate from when the quarry was active. Behind that is cloud!

We had a damp lunch in the van courtesy of a local Spar and then drove to Caernarfon to meet Andy Teasdale, a photographer who also takes groups with Wild Photography Tours and has a small studio there.

Then we explored the boats by the river. 

On our way back to the hotel, we stopped by a lake and walked part way around (in the rain) for a few shots.

After our evening meal, all I could do was crawl into bed!!

It's been a great trip and I have been inspired. Our tutor, Paul Harris, was excellent and I will hope to travel with him again.

The extra is also at the quarry. Vertical slates are used as field boundaries. I liked the rowan in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.