Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

My pinkest blip (so far this year)

The day began early (argh). G had just two hours in school, so I took the office laptop with me. It was such a waste because I discovered the SAP system was down. I was told to try after midday BST.

In between trying again (only to find out it was still not working), we had lunch, and I got to chat with my sisters after AGES! Work plans thwarted, we watched an interesting Netflix movie called "A Fortunate Man". It was about a Danish Engineer who was way ahead of his time finding ways to create energy from nature.

I had promised G I would take her for fish and chips, so we headed out to a pub in the evening. I can't remember the last time I was in a pub. It was probably in the UK in 2019!! Anyway, it turns out we were in the right place at the right time, as the Liverpool/Manchester United match began. We stayed until the end of the first half when Liverpool walked off the pitch with a score of 4-0. Unbelievable!

Back home and G put on the TV to catch the news. The result of the T20 World Cup Cricket match was revealed. Pakistan beat India. It's always great when the result is like this, but it turns out this was a landmark win, as it is the first time Pakistan have beaten their arch rival in a world cup. And it happened right here in my home city. If my Dad were alive, he would have definitely been in the stadium.

It's been a great day for sport.

The pink orchids which greeted us as we entered the Sheraton Hotel don't reflect much of the day, but they do tie in with blipping pink for October. Could I ask you, please, to click on this link to help with free mammograms? Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.