The Slough

Waiting for sunshine
becomes an exercise in 
patience I don't have

~ carliewired

I made myself wait this morning. I was up at 7, a sleep-in for me, but the sky did not give me any hope. I left the house after 8 with a plan to find a breakfast and then look for photos. 

When my morning activity starts after 8 I am not well pleased. Traffic is heavier. The drive-thru can be far too busy. I have to mind school zones and speed signs. It is NOT my most favoured time at all. 

Today, some kind heart in the drive-thru just ahead of me, paid for my breakfast. I was honoured at the thoughtfulness. I then paid for the person in line behind me. All random acts of kindness. I do feel the need to pass it around. So, that's a great start to the day!

I motored off to McArthur Island to have a look around. Of course, the pedestrian traffic has picked up by that point in the day. Releasing my quilted heart becomes a great challenge. I managed to tie it up on the fence by the foot bridge. I walked a portion of the Rivers Trail beside the slough admiring the beautiful fall colours. I caught some sunlight as the cloud cover parted. It lit up the trees and deepened the reflections in the water. Mallards and Canada geese populate the area. They each choose a particular location. As always, I got a shot of my mountains behind the Butterfly Garden. 

The weather continues mild and cloudy with a some showers for the afternoon. Our mountain highways can expect some snow tonight. We are forecast  a high of 13 C today. 

I am home today with fabric to keep me busy and CBC radio to keep me company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.