Tranquille

No colour to wow
me, just greyed light to dim the
brights of our autumn

~ carliewired

I was watching for colour in the sky at 7. It seemed that nothing stunning was going to happen this morning, unfortunately. I headed off to Tranquille with the truck. 

 I stopped beside Tranquille River first. It is really a creek, but I won't argue. I haven't been here since before the forest fires started. It looks lovely in fall colour but better viewed in sunshine. 

I drove up Red Lake Road as far as the first landing where I could look down to the river and the lake. The line of yellow cottonwood trees marks the outflow of Tranquille River into the lake. 

A fellow was just emerging from a van as I pulled into the lookout. He is from Melbourne, Australia and just heading back to the coast to find a flight home. We had a pleasant chat about what could be seen from the lookout. He took some photos, then went back to making breakfast while I headed down the hill. 

I stopped by Tranquille Farms to get a shot of my mountains looking across the pond which can no longer be viewed there. The wetlands continue to shrink back as the river level drops. I parked along the road near the pond to catch the morning cycle crew heading out to Tranquille. I felt sorry for the last straggler in the pack. He was gritting his teeth as he pedalled to catch up. They regarded me curiously as they passed. I waved. They didn't. 

I left my quilted heart on the Rivers Trail. I think I might be giving them a pause at number 100 as the weather breaks down. Good weather brings out more walkers to find them. It can wait for spring. 

The weatherman has promised a mainly cloudy day with a chance of showers and a high of 13 C. I will enjoy my day indoors. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.